• 12 NOV 19
    • 0

    Exploring sequence space by Recombination in the RNA world – ExploRNA

    We propose to explore the potential of recomination (as an alternative to template-based polymerization) to provide the evolutionary properties of reproduction and variation in a preboitic context.

    Building a chemical system capable of Darwinian evolution indeed remains a fully open challenge. Such a realization would be a crucial step toward the understanding of abiogenesis. So far, the only RNA system able of self-reproduction and of a diversity of states is based on recombination of fragments into ribozymes (RNA catalysts) catalysing their own recombination. However, self-reproduction is not yet evolution. Indeed, the generation of molecular innovations and sustaining them are other nevessary conditions for evolution.

    We propose here to exploit the ability of self-reproducing recombinase ribozymes to catalyse the random shuffling of fragments other than the substrates of their own formation. The products od the shuffling can in particular lead to the formation of sequences with novel functions. When theses sequences enhance their own formation by recombination, this would lead to an expanded autocatalytic cycle that is recombinase dependent. Realizing such a transition would provide a proof of concept of an elementary evolutionary step based on recombination.

    Leave a reply →
collegecurieensespcifemissocial

• 12 NOV 19
    • 0

    Exploring sequence space by Recombination in the RNA world – ExploRNA

    Nous proposons d’explorer le rôle de la recombinaison comme source de reproduction et de variation dans un contexte prébiotique, fournissant un scénario alternatif à la polymérisation sur modèle pour amorcer l’évolution par sélection naturelle.

    Construire un système chimique capable d’évolution darwinienne reste en effet un véritable défi. Une telle réalisation consituerait une étape cruciale dans la compréhension de l’abiogenèse. Jusqu’à présent, le seul système ARN capable de s’autoreproduire et de réaliser une diversité d’états repose sur la recombinaison de fragments formant des ribozymes (catalyseurs d’ARN) catalysant leur propre formation par recombinaison. Cependant, l’auto-reproduction n’est pas l’évolution. En effet, la possibilité de générer des innovations et les maintenir au cours de la reproduction sont des conditions nécessaires à l’évolution.

    Nous proposons ici d’exploiter la capacité des ribozymes recombinases à catalyser le brassage aléatoire de fragments autres que les substrats servant  à leur propre formation. Les produits du brassage peuvent en particulier conduire à la formation de séquences ayant de nouvelles fonctions. Lorsque ces séquences favorisent leur propre recombinaison, cela conduit à intégrer de nouvelles séquences au système autocatalytique reposant sur la recombinase. Une telle transition apporterait la preuve de concept d’une étape évolutive élémentaire basée sur la recombinaison.

    Leave a reply →
collegecurieensespcifemissocial